Roasted Pear and Feta Flatbread

About a month ago I went to the Cheesecake Factory and ordered their Roasted Pear and Blue Cheese Flatbread (from the Skinnylicious Menu) and it was so so so good!  I KNEW I just HAD to make my own version at home.

So, we made them for dinner the other night and I LOVED them!!  They were pretty easy to throw together too.  However, I must say that the flatbread I used as the crust was not my favorite.  It was still very good, but I’m going to keep searching until I find just the right one.

Oh, I’m sorry I didn’t measure out some of the ingredients.  You can just add more or less to your liking.  Anyway, here’s how I made it.

(My Version) of Cheesecake Factory’s Roasted Pear and Blue Cheese Flatbread
(makes 2 individual flatbreads)

2 Flat Breads (or crust of your choice!)
Olive Oil
Garlic Salt
1 Pear (I used Bosc); thinly sliced
1 Onion; thinly sliced
Pecan Halves
Feta Cheese (you could also use Gorgonzola or Blue Cheese)
Arugula

I used these flat breads…

I bought these at Walmart. They were pretty good and healthy, but I’m going to keep looking to see if I can find something better….or make my own!

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

Prepare all ingredients…
Thinly slice the onion and saute in a little olive oil.
If you need to know more specifics on how to saute onions click here.

Just started to saute the onions

All done! These smelled SO GOOD! Sauteed onions are my fav!!

I also cooked the pears for a few minutes on the stove to make them more tender and sweet.

Lay the flat bread on a pizza pan or cookie sheet.
Lightly spray (or brush) with olive oil and then sprinkle lightly with garlic salt.
Top with onions, feta, pears, and pecans (I also added the arugula at this time, but next time I’m going to add it after cooking.)

Note: Arugula was a little hard to find.  I found mine at the local grocery store (Peterson’s) in the produce section with the fresh herbs.

Sprinkle a little more garlic salt on top (I’m sure you could experiment with more sophisticated spices as well, lol.)

Bake on lowest rack in oven for 8-10 minutes.
Move to top rack and bake for 2-3 minutes more.

Getting ready to go in the oven!

All done! So so so good!

Ya, my arugula got a little dried out (go figure.)  I’m sure it would be SO YUMMY added on fresh afterward.

Oh and I made pepperoni pizzas for the kids!  They LOVED them so much!  They really really loved having their own little pizza.

This was a great, easy, yummy dinner.  I’m sure this will become a staple in our home.

xoxo!

About Melanie

I’m a health and fitness enthusiast,runner and mommy of 5! My blog is a compilation of my successes, struggles and highlights as I strive to live the healthiest, happiest life possible! www.happybeinghealthy.com View all posts by Melanie

6 responses to “Roasted Pear and Feta Flatbread

  • Jeanne Moskoff

    These look sooo good!! I’m onto this next! Just finished making a smoothie… and living on the edge, I put in 1/2 kale and 1/2 spinach. Need to blend it a little longer – but I feel good to at least have gotten my kale in!! You’ve really changed my ways – in a GOOD way! I’m now buying a lot of our produce at Costco… saving a ton on money with that, too. Thank you!!

    • Melanie

      I hope you love these Jeanne! I think that’s awesome you added KALE to your shake!! So so so cool. I’m so glad you’re savin’ $$ at Costco too. I really love that store so so much!!!

  • Jeanne Moskoff

    Hey! I forgot to share something… if you like PESTO – I noticed yesterday that Costco has our favorite Pesto by Cabo Naturals – Kirkland. At our Costco – it’s near the Hummus. I take Trader Joe’s Whole Wheat Fusilli pasta (it tastes like regular pasta), cook it, add Pesto sauce and you can chill it and eat it later… we chill it – and then add cherry tomatoes, fresh spinach, and even sauteed mushrooms. Then sprinkle a little Parmesan cheese over the top. Now, my six year old… likes just the pasta with Pesto and Parm cheese over the top. He says it’s the best – he has it warm or cold. My two year old really likes cherry tomatoes – so, I add tomatoes to hers… but the Pesto Sauce is the best!! You can make Pesto Pizzas, too!

    • Melanie

      I’m totally lookin’ at Costco for that next time I’m there! Yummy! Your recipe sounds amazing! I wish we had a Trader Joe’s here. 😦 I used to shop there when I lived in New Hampshire, but we don’t have one in Utah.

Leave a comment